20: Popping the Adventurers Cherry


Number 20, Out of town trip with young pips in our clan, that’s what it said in my bucket list and last May 2014 we were able to accomplish it by conquering the highest peak of Cavite, the Pico De Loro.

Our group just resting on the camp site

Our group just resting on the camp site

I know I’m an adventurer, in every aspect of the word.(ehem) 😉   Ergo my bucket list is not the usual one you’ll see, I made sure I put a rather an unconventional naughty twist in it.. something I’d really would like to try before I kick the bucket.  (but of course I wont tell you guys which one is it)

So going back, last May we were able to go out-of-town with only us, the young generations in our clan. You see I came from a tight-knit family and we usually go out in groups, with my aunts, uncles, young cousins and so on and so forth with us. It’s not a bad thing though, I do enjoy it but I really want it to be only us yuppies this time, eight hormonally driven 20 plus years old, bawling around out in the skirts of Metro Manila.

We met in Mindanao Avenue, at my friend’s apartment at around 12 mn, we had some chat, talked about our transportation plan which includes taking a bus ride to Baclaran, then another bus to Naic/Ternate route and then a tricycle ride through Magnetic Hill to the drop off at the DENR office.

The whole trip has been pleasant, it was still dark and most of us are just trying to grab some shut-eye. The ride to Magnetic Hill was a different story though, it was 3 am and the place is dark with a new moon high above the skies. It was amazing looking at the white orb surrounded by a dark sheath, that is covered by some puffy clouds that seems to blend well with the sound of insects and the angry motor that shrieks VROOOOOMM! as we go uphill.

As soon as we arrived at the DENR office, we paid our dues and got ready for the early trek. There was another group who will also traverse in the dark, and according to my cousins gf, Christian Vasquez was there. Well sadly, my eyes  is not reliable to distinguish anyone that is not in a 2 meter radius, so I’ll just have to see his handsome face at the campsite. (hintay lang bebe)

It was past 4am when we started trekking, it was really dark with thick woods surrounding you, and roots and even bigger rocks paved the trail. Now I know I am not clumsy, really I’m not! believe me!.. but yeah I slipped a few times, screamed some more when I thought an insect got me and knock my head in one of the big trunks. It was all laughs though, I think the more slapstick mistakes we do, the less daunting our trek in the dark becomes.

DSCN0040

After sunrise, we were able to meet a few mountaineers going down. I just love how friendly the vibe is when you get to meet them halfway in the trail. “Ingat po kayo”,  ” Good morning!”, “Konting tiis pa”,  “Hi!” were exchanged by everyone. Aww it made me feel queasy inside.. hehe

Anyway, after 3 hours we finally arrived on the campsite, most of us are beginners so reaching the campsite was like hallelujah! It was 7 am already, the place was cool with the sun beaming its Vitamin D induced rays.

Found a place to lounge, between the grass and some rocks and ate like a pack of wolves. The trek just drained all of my energy, and we know the campsite is just the pit stop, the summit is way up above us.

pico_jhet3

After we had our hearty breakfast, and some group selfies (pikchur pikchur), and with ABS-CBN’s summer ID song, “Kayang kayang kaya kayang kayang kaya” we started out trek to the summit.

Shoot! I brought the wrong kind of shoes, it was an uphill climb with only grass and dead trunks to hold on to. We literally have to crawl just to go up. The ground is not stable enough to walk unto, unless you have super spiky shoes or Spiderman’s ability to latch unto things and never fall.

Deym! going down will be a nightmare, since both sides are cliffs. YIIIKES!! I saw some people who just stop in the middle of the trek and gave up, but heck NO! I’m an adventurer right? its time to pop the PICo cherry!

After roughly 20 minutes of climb, Alas I’m at the top of the world!! err.. top of Cavite. hihi 😀

The summit was amazing, it’s about the size of a studio apartment (just do 3 flips and you’ll surely fall) but the view is incomparable. You can see Batangas, Tagaytay and the Pico De Loro Cove Beach Resort; from the summit you can also rock climb the 90 degree Parrots Peak. We stayed there for 15 minutes and all those time we were looking at that monolith, that seems to say,

The summit, the campers and the view.

The summit, the campers and the view.

“Come hither and conquer me” , it was so tempting, but we don’t have any rope, gloves nor the proper shoes. So we just have to decline and promise to ravish her next time.

The Monolith, or better known as The Parrot's Peak

The Monolith, or better known as The Parrot’s Peak

 

Around 10 am, we started our climb down the mountain, stopped over at the rest site and grab some fluids and biscuits, then finally go back to DENR to catch a tricycle that will take us back to the bus station, then to the city to grab some lunch.

Eight tired but extremely happy yuppies slept like the dead in a bus going to Baclaran, it was amazing how we were able to get ourselves to catch an MRT ride from Taft then to Trinoma, just to get home. I’m sure tomorrow everyone will be walking as if were newly circumcised or have a big pus between our thighs, but hey it was fun and surely it wont be our last.

 

3 thoughts on “20: Popping the Adventurers Cherry

  1. Pingback: Pico de Loro, a Traverse | Travel, Dawer o Lakwatsa

Give it to me Baby

